Angel Romero with the Aeolus Quartet

The legendary Spanish maestro in a program of solos and ensemble music with the Aeolus Quartet

“An artist of unfailing musicality … His playing is virtuosic but inevitably dignified.”Tim Page, The New York Times

Wednesday, November 18, 2015, at 7:30 PM

Co-sponsored by the Morgan Library and Museum

At the Morgan Library & Museum
225 Madison Avenue at 36th Street
New York

Tickets: $35 / $25 for students, seniors, and NYCCGS members. Join now.

Buy tickets

Members: You may order at the Morgan Library member rate.

Box office fees may apply.

VIVALDI Concerto in D Major, RV 93
BOCCHERINI Quintet No. 9 in C Major, G. 453 “La Retirata di Madrid”; Quintet No. 4 in D Major, G. 448 “Fandango”
CELEDONIO ROMERO Malagueñas; Fantasia from Suite Andaluza

Hailed for his superior artistry as the maestro of Spanish guitar, Angel Romero’s eminence in the music world as soloist and conductor is heralded by audiences and critics alike. One of the most sought-after musicians of his generation, Angel Romero has appeared in the world’s major cultural centers, including those of London, Paris, Berlin, Vienna, Madrid, Munich, Zurich, Chicago, Los Angles and New York among numerous others. He has appeared as soloist with such leading orchestras as the New York Philharmonic, the Cleveland Orchestra, the Royal Philharmonic, the New World Symphony, and the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. As conductor, he has led orchestras worldwide including the Pittsburgh Symphony, the Academy of St. Martin in the Fields, the Royal Philharmonic, the Berlin Symphoniker, the Beijing Philharmonic, the Shanghai Symphony, the Bogotá Philharmonic, the Chicago Sinfonietta, the Orquesta de Baja California, the Santa Barbara Symphony, and the San Diego Symphony among others. Regardless of his role on stage, his driving intensity and flawless control mark him as a true master of the arts.

Praised by Strad Magazine for their “high-octane” performance, the Aeolus Quartet is among the finest young string quartets performing today. Violinists Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro, violist Gregory Luce, and cellist Alan Richardson formed the Aeolus Quartet in 2008 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Since its inception, the all-American quartet has been awarded prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States and performed across the globe with showings “worthy of a major-league quartet” (Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News). Luke Quinton of the Austin-American Statesman writes, “The Aeolus Quartet is a powerful and thoughtful group of young musicians who are plotting an ascending course … this vibrant group shows great promise.” They are currently the Graduate Quartet in Residence at The Juilliard School. The Quartet is named for the Greek god Aeolus, who governed the four winds. This idea of a single spirit uniting four individual forces serves as an inspiration to the members of the Aeolus Quartet as they pursue their art.

Photo of Angel Romero by Niki Venis. Photo of Aeolus Quartet by Nathan Russell.